2018 James T. McCarty Leadership Lecture

"Leadership and Professionalism: It’s All in Front of You Now

Guest Speaker: Michael A. Moné, BPharm., J.D., Vice President, Associate General Counsel - Regulatory, Cardinal Health Inc.

As a licensed pharmacist and lawyer, Moné has served in a variety of roles in private and public practice of law and pharmacy prior to joining Cardinal Health as vice president of anti-diversion and senior regulatory counsel.

In his first role with Cardinal, he was responsible for the continuous improvement of the company’s anti-diversion initiative to identify and stop supply chain diversion of controlled substances at the customer level. Moné has now moved into the Legal Department responsible for advising and assisting Cardinal Health business units with meeting their regulatory responsibilities.

Moné has held leadership roles within many industry associations, including the American Pharmacists Association, National Association of Boards of Pharmacy, Accreditation Council for Pharmacy Education, U.S. Pharmacopeia, and the Florida Pharmacy Association. He also served on the Ohio Governor’s Prescription Drug Abuse Task Force and is a member of the Ohio State Board of Pharmacy.

Moné has also published multiple works on the topics of pharmacy and law. He attended the University of Florida where he received both his Juris Doctorate and Bachelor of Science in Pharmacy.

About James T. mccarty

James T. McCarty is a retired professor and alumnus of UH College of Pharmacy. Having spent a lifetime with the university, from graduation to retirement, McCarty has built a legacy of professionalism in the classroom, in pharmacy practice, and behind the podium. McCarty has many years of varied pharmacy experience, including hospital, manufacturing and community.

His professional affiliations include Rho Chi National Honor Society, American Mensa and Phi Lambda Sigma, the national pharmacy leadership society where he served as president in 1992. McCarty has received many honors,including the 1997 Harris County Pharmacist of the Year, the 1991 UH College of Pharmacy Distinguished Alumni Award, the 1992 Texas Pharmacist Association Pharmacist of the Year Award and the 1992 Albert Rosica, Jr. Memorial Award by the American College of Apothecaries “for recognition of outstanding contribution to pharmacy education.”

About the lecture Series

The shouts of “Carpe Diem” emanating from James T. McCarty has encouraged his students to strive to live for the day–to persevere through their time spent at the college for benefit of the patients they will serve. In fact, many students may remember how he emphasized the importance of treating all patients as equals.

Throughout the curriculum, faculty and students used McCarty as a model of leadership within the profession by emulating his ideals and teachings. For this reason, the students of Phi Lambda Sigma, the national pharmacy leadership honor society, are proud to have named the long-standing event, Leadership Lecture Series, after such an influential individual. 

Past guest speakers

Michael A. Moné, 2018
George Okpamen, 2017
Joyce A. Tipton, 2016
David A. Zilz and Roger W. Anderson, 2015
Charles L. "Chuck" Hopson, 2014
No lecture in 2013
Todd W. Canada, 2012
Lisa Scholz, 2011
Dennis B. Worthen, 2010
Joesph T. DiPiro, 2009
Lloyd Y. Young, 2008
Rhea Blanken, 2007