Phi Lambda Sigma was organized in March 1965 by Charlie Thomas, a pharmacy student, on the campus of Auburn University, with the approval of the faculty of the School of Pharmacy. Following a two-year probationary period, the Auburn University Student Senate granted a charter to the Society on October 3, 1967. The Phi Lambda Sigma National Fraternity was legally incorporated in Lee County, Alabama on June 28, 1968. That same year, the name “Phi Lambda Sigma” was registered with the U.S. Bureau of Patents & Copyrights in Washington, D.C., and an official key was designed by the Balfour Company. The National Office was moved from Auburn University to Atlanta, Georgia in 1992. In 1996, Phi Lambda Sigma contracted with the University of Tennessee College of Pharmacy for administration of the Society, and the National Office was relocated from Atlanta to the campus of the University of Tennessee College of Pharmacy in Memphis, Tennessee. In 1999 the Society relocated to the University of Missouri-Kansas City School of Pharmacy, where it makes its current home. Adapted from PLS National Website.


To support pharmacy leadership commitment by recognizing leaders & fostering leadership development.


Ensure the continuing availability of student & practitioner leaders for the profession of pharmacy.
Acknowledge leadership achievement & award membership to leaders recommended by the Society.
Enhance the talent, skill, & effectiveness of leaders for the profession of pharmacy.
Support & encourage sustained leadership commitment.

Adapted from PLS National Website


The Upsilon Chapter of Phi Lambda Sigma was chartered in 1988 at the University of Houston College of Pharmacy. The purpose of Phi Lambda Sigma, also known as the Pharmacy Leadership Society, is to promote the development of leadership qualities, especially among pharmacy students. By peer recognition, the Society encourages participation in all pharmacy activities. Since membership crosses fraternal & organizational lines, the Society does not compete with other pharmacy organizations (; rather, Phi Lambda Sigma recognizes & promotes leadership. We, the Upsilon Chapter of Phi Lambda Sigma, strive to improve the quality of our leaders in pharmacy school so that they may acquire the skills needed to be an effective pharmacist & an active leader in the profession of pharmacy.

The Upsilon Chapter has the distinction of being the only PLS chapter with five alumni who have served as National Presidents of the organization: Keith Lewis, James T. McCarty, Lynn Simpson, May J. Woo and Shara L. Zatopek.